Dipole replaces mag loop

The AEA Isoloop was working as designed and making contacts but this dipole is blowing the doors off the loop.  I’m actually seeing dx from Europe and this afternoon I worked France.  That is the first QSO with Europe since we moved into this condo.  Disappointingly the Isoloop never was able to achieve that goal.  Tonight I worked European Russia with the dipole.    I love it.

IMG_1930[1]

Constructed of electric fence insulators mounted on the lanai screens, I stuck hookup wire in the insulators and a MFJ 1:1 current balun in the middle.  I had to hunt for the insulators but I found them at Murdoch’s Farm and Ranch Supply. Amazing what one can do with wire antennas.

IMG_1931[1]

Leave a Reply

